Few Basic Solutions

Scratching post or scratching sofa?

(The video version of this article is only available in French)

Are you convinced your cat has a sixth sense that clues him in on the cost of your couches, so he can stab the most expensive one and claim it as his scratching post? Well, he doesn’t! You might ask yourself why kitty chooses your nice couch even though you’ve got him a brand new scratching post. Here's why.

Are you convinced that your cat has a sixth sense that tells him the cost of sofas so he knows to dig his claws in the most expensive one in your house? Of course not! So why then is he more inclined to sharpen its claws on your first-class sofa when you have just provided him with a brand-new scratching post?

 

The story behind claws

Territorial marking

Cats have scent glands in their front paws that enable them to mark their territory. Hence, when a cat claws something, he tells his surroundings that this place belongs in his territory and that he comes there often. It is as if he puts up a sign saying “Private Property, Do not Trespass”. If several cats use the same scratching post, what they are doing then only amounts to “routine clawing”. In other words, inside the home, this “sign” no longer retains any aggressive territorial value.

 

Feline yoga

Did you notice that when your cat is done clawing, he stretches and arches its back? By doing so, he stretches his spine, which allows him to stay flexible!

 

A homemade manicure

Do you think that your little feline claws things in order to sharpen his claws? Guess again! He is rather trying to wear them off so they are less cumbersome.

Now that you understand why your cat claws, let’s see why he does not use the scratching post you chose for him. 


The scratching post’s location

Chances are that the scratching post was placed in the corner of a room so as not to ruin your decoration. But as your cat uses it to mark his territory, it is very likely that this place does not suit him. Indeed, what kind of visibility a “Private Property” sign would have if it were put in the backyard? The same goes for a scratching post that is located in a dark, unfrequented corner of the house. The corner of the sofa, conversely, is probably located at the entrance of your cat’s territory. The scratching post has to be moved so as to be located at the place where your cat wants to put up his territory sign, that is in front of the sofa’s corner.

 

Making the sofa unappealing

If it were unpleasant to dig the claws in the sofa, your cat would be less inclined to go back to it. For example, put up a plastic sheet, aluminum foil or double-sided tape on the corner or at the base of the sofa: those textures are rarely appreciated by felines. Then, put some catnip on the scratching post in order to get your little companion’s attention. Once he has taken the habit of using it (for at least 14 days), you will be able to move it a few feet at a time so that it is less in the way (a FEW feet only).

 

The good scratching post

Unfortunately, the vast majority of store-sold scratching posts are inadequate, because they do not answer the cat’s needs. Here is how to choose the best scratching post:

  • The post must be as stable as a tree. Unfortunately, most commercial posts are not sturdy enough and topple as soon as a cat puts his paws on them. Moreover, their base is rarely wide enough to offer adequate stability when a cat climbs on it. A 24’’x24’’ base is ideal. Your scratching post is inadequate? Lift the corner of the sofa and steady the post by sliding its base under the foot of the sofa. Then your post will not only be more stable, but also located in the ideal spot.
  • The post has to be high enough for your cat to stretch at its full length so as to realign his    spine. A post of 36’’ high and 4’’ wide is ideal (a 4’’x4’’ does the trick nicely).  
  • The post has to be covered in a material that has a texture the cat likes. Each feline has his preferences: carpet, sisal rope, cardboard and wood are all excellent materials. The easier to use is probably sisal rope, since all you have to do is to wrap it around to post, from top to bottom. 

Some cats also like to claw on horizontal supports like sisal carpet.

Cat trees also make excellent scratching posts, for they meet all of the above-mentioned criteria. Moreover, they are a great investment, for they also answer other essential needs in the cat. We will broach this topic in a different article.

 

The number of scratching posts

Generally, cats wish to put up more than one territorial sign in their house. We therefore need to provide them with several opportunities to do so. The more cats you have, the more posts the house needs.

Your scratching post looks worn-down? Do not get rid of it: if your cat especially likes it, it is because the post is impregnated by your cat’s scent. If you want to give him a new one, place it next to the old one while he gets used to the change and leaves his scent on it. Then, you will be able to remove the old post.

 

Cats’ attraction for vertical lines

Wooden surfaces displaying vertical streaks as well as wallpapers and fabrics with vertical stripes pattern attract your cats like magnets! They will relish scratching those. That’s what explains that a great number of cats love to claw doorframes. As visual marking (claw marks on wooden surfaces) also encourages a cat to replicate this behavior in the same place, the only way to prevent more scratching is to sand and paint over the surface.

 

Declawing

Thanks to scratching posts, homemade scratching posts and cat trees, you no longer have a reason to support the decision of declawing your cat. Indeed, five cats and two sofas can co-exist peacefully in a single home and remain intact (cats and sofas alike)! Success rests in education and in the richness of the environment so that your cat has all he needs to live his cat life. 

Be informed of our next training sessions

Chroniques solutions

Poteau à griffe ou divan à griffe?

Vous êtes persuadé que votre chat a un sixième sens lui permettant d’évaluer le coût d’un divan et de planter ses griffes dans le plus dispendieux de la maison? Eh non! Alors pourquoi est-il donc davantage stimulé à se faire les griffes sur votre beau divan alors que vous lui avez offert un griffoir tout neuf?
 

La petite histoire des griffes

Le marquage. Le chat possède des glandes à l’intérieur de ses pattes avant lui permettant de marquer son territoire. Ainsi, en faisant ses griffes, il indique au voisinage que cet endroit fait partie de son territoire et qu’il y revient souvent. C’est comme s’il installait une pancarte indiquant « terrain privé, n’entrez pas ». Si plusieurs chats font leurs griffes sur le même griffoir, ils font alors des « griffades de routine ». En d’autres mots, à l’intérieur de la maison, cette pancarte perd sa valeur territoriale agressive.

Du yoga félin. Avez-vous remarqué que lorsque votre chat a terminé de se faire les griffes, il s’étire en se cambrant le dos? Ce faisant, il étire sa colonne vertébrale, ce qui lui permet de garder sa flexibilité!

Une manucure « maison ». Vous pensez que votre petit félin fait ses griffes dans le but de les affûter? Détrompez-vous! Il tente plutôt de les user afin qu’elles soient moins encombrantes.


Maintenant que vous comprenez pourquoi votre chat fait ses griffes, voyons pourquoi il n’utilise pas le griffoir que vous lui avez acheté et mis à sa disposition.

L’emplacement du griffoir

Fort est à parier que le poteau à griffes a été disposé dans le coin d'une pièce afin qu’il ne gâche pas la décoration intérieure.  Mais comme votre chat l'utilise pour marquer son territoire, il est fort possible que cet endroit ne lui convienne pas. En effet, quelle visibilité aurait une pancarte « terrain privé » si elle était installée au fond de votre terrain? Il en va de même pour un griffoir situé dans un coin sombre et non fréquenté de la maison. Le coin de votre sofa, quant à lui, est probablement situé à l’entrée du territoire de votre chat. Le griffoir doit donc être déplacé de sorte à se trouver à l’endroit où votre chat veut planter sa pancarte territoriale, soit devant le coin du divan.

Enlever le charme du divan

Si se planter les griffes dans le divan est désagréable, votre chat sera plus enclin à ne pas y retourner. Par exemple, installez une toile de plastique, du papier d’aluminium ou du ruban double-face sur le coin ou à la base du divan; ces textures sont rarement appréciées des félins. Déposez ensuite de l’herbe à chat sur le griffoir afin de capter l’intérêt de votre petit compagnon. Une fois qu’il aura pris l’habitude de l’utiliser (durant au moins 14 jours), vous pourrez le déplacer de quelques pieds afin qu’il soit moins encombrant (QUELQUES pieds seulement).

Le bon griffoir

Malheureusement, la très grande majorité des griffoirs offerts en magasin sont inadéquats, car ils ne répondent pas aux besoins du chat. Voici comment sélectionner le meilleur poteau à griffes.

1)    Le poteau doit être aussi stable qu’un arbre. Malheureusement, la majorité de ceux offerts en magasin ne sont pas solides et tombent aussitôt qu'un chat y pose une patte. De plus, leur base est rarement suffisamment large pour offrir une bonne stabilité lorsqu'un chat y grimpe. Une base de 24 po2 est idéale. Votre poteau est inadéquat? Soulevez le coin du divan et stabilisez-le en glissant sa base sous la patte du meuble. Ainsi votre poteau sera non seulement stable, mais également positionné au bon endroit.

2)    Le poteau doit être assez haut pour que le chat puisse s’étirer de tout son long pour replacer sa colonne vertébrale. Un poteau d’une hauteur de 36 pouces et d’une largeur de 4 pouces est idéal (un morceau de 4 x 4 fait bien l'affaire).

3)    Le poteau doit être recouvert d’un matériel présentant une texture que le chat aime. Chaque félin a ses préférences : tapis, cordage, carton et bois sont tous d’excellents matériaux. Le plus facile à utiliser est la corde, car vous n’avez qu’à l’enrouler autour du poteau, de son sommet à sa base.

Certains chats aiment aussi faire leurs griffes sur un support horizontal comme un tapis en corde.

Les arbres à chat font d’excellents griffoirs, car ils répondent à tous les critères mentionnés précédemment. De plus, il s’agit d’un excellent investissement, car ils répondent aussi à d’autres besoins essentiels chez le chat. Nous aborderons ce sujet dans une autre chronique.

Le nombre de griffoirs

Généralement, les chats désirent installer plus d’une pancarte territoriale dans leur maison. Il faut donc leur offrir plusieurs occasions de s’exécuter. Plus vous avez de chats, plus la maison doit comporter de griffoirs.

Votre poteau à griffes est délabré? Ne vous en débarrassez surtout pas : si votre chat l’affectionne particulièrement, c'est parce que ses odeurs y sont imprégnées. Si vous voulez lui en offrir un nouveau, disposez-le à côté du vieux, le temps qu'il s'habitue à ce changement et qu’il y dépose ses odeurs. Par la suite, vous pourrez retirer l'ancien.

L’attirance des chats pour les lignes verticales

Les surfaces de bois présentant des stries verticales ainsi que les papiers peints et les tissus présentant des lignes verticales attirent vos chats comme des aimants! Ils se feront un plaisir d’aller y faire leurs griffes. C’est ce qui explique que bon nombre de chats adorent s’adonner sur les cadres de portes. Comme le marquage visuel (les marques de griffes sur le bois) incite aussi votre chat à reproduire son comportement au même endroit, la seule façon d’éviter qu’il y retourne est de sabler puis de repeindre la surface.

Le dégriffage

Grâce aux griffoirs, aux poteaux à griffes « faits maison » et aux arbres à chat, vous n’avez plus de raison pour justifier la décision de dégriffer de votre chat. En effet, cinq chats et deux divans peuvent cohabiter en harmonie dans une seule et même demeure et rester intacts (autant les chats que les divans)! Le succès réside dans l'éducation et dans la richesse de l'environnement, c'est-à-dire que votre chat ait tout ce dont il a besoin pour mener sa vie de chat. 

Soyez informé des nouvelles dates de formation